Figure out what sucks, then don’t do that

So if you look at the counter on the home page of my blog, you might initially think … success !!  I went from 13.5 pounds to lose, to 10.0 pounds to lose in just one post.  However if you notice, it’s been over 6 weeks since I last posted an entry.  The reality looks a little more like this:

13.5 pounds to go
17.5 pounds to go
18.0 pounds to go
16.0 pounds to go
14.0 pounds to go
12.0 pounds to go

11.0 pounds to go

And now here I stand, just 10 pounds to go.  That number is as of this morning; although my official weigh in day is Friday, I do weigh myself every day.

Okay okay, so I let the holidays get away from me a bit.  I guess I could still consider it success, as I am NOW going in the right direction … right ?!?!

Time to lose those famous “last 10 pounds”.  Yikes !!

In all honesty though, I’ve been doing pretty good.  I’ve been counting my calories like a good little girl, and getting better at exercising on a semi-regular basis.  My diet may not be perfect, but it’s working so that’s what counts, IMO.  I’ve limited myself to 1600 calories a day on the days that I count, which is not every day.  If I have plans on a given night, I do not count calories.  However I still try and eat well for most of the day, allowing myself to indulge for just that one meal or event.  These typically happen at least once a weekend, or sometimes all weekend long, if I’m lucky 😉

A dietician or nutritionist would likely cringe if they saw my food log.  Of those 1600 calories, typically 1200 or so are accounted for by the food I eat, and I save a couple of hundred calories a night for alcohol.  To put things in a glass-half-full perspective, it’s better than eating 1600 calories in addition to several hundred calories of booze.  How’s that for warped logic ???

I will pass along one of the new recipes I tried in the past month or so, taken from a recipe book from famed chef Rocco DiSpirito.  In it, he takes the comfort foods we all know and love and recreates them in healthy, calorie controlled ways.  I use this book often and have not been disappointed yet.  This particular recipe is one of my favourites; it’s called Chicken-Fried Steak with Sausage Gravy.  Steak, sausage, gravy ???  How can you possibly go wrong.

My new exercise is a Stability Ball Push Up to Pike.  Not easy in any way, shape or form, and in all honesty I can only eke out a few of these at a time, however it’s a great exercise that works nearly every body part at once.  Win-win if you ask me 🙂

Leave a comment