Slow and steady wins the race

I am 2 weeks into my metamorphosis, and down just another 1/2 pound this week.  Considering last weekend’s getaway (aka my 2 day eating and drinking free-for-all), I’m actually pleased with any weight loss at all.  If I can enjoy that type of weekend and still see positive results, that totally works for me 🙂

And unlike the Tina of old, I didn’t have to starve myself or run myself ragged with insane bouts of cardio and weight training to make up for it.  My week continued as planned; no calorie counting and not a second thought to what I was eating or drinking.  I managed to weight train 3 times and got in 4 cardio workouts as well.

This I can live with !!

More importantly than the number on the scale however, I really am starting to feel better about myself.  Just two short weeks ago when I decided to start this blog I was feeling gross and fat and bloated.  I’m certainly not anywhere near where I want to be, but those icky feelings have almost completely disappeared.  I’m feeling more confident and a little bit happier with what I see in the mirror … but just a little.  I still have a long way to go.

I suppose I’m most especially proud that I was able to accomplish any results in a highly stressful week.  As I mentioned previously I am very much an emotional eater, and this week my mental state was a virtual train wreck.  If I can find success at this point in my life, there may be hope for me yet.

My Exercise of the Week was the Glute/Ham Raise, which you can view on the EOTW page.  I had done a poor man’s version of this with my clients previously, but my gym finally got the machine for it a couple of weeks ago and I was ecstatic.  I managed 2 sets of 12 reps, but on my 3rd set could only eke out 7 reps when my hamstrings reach complete failure.  What a great feeling 🙂  Take that cellulite !!!

My newest culinary concoction was Basil Shrimp with Feta and Orzo.  This recipe is what I like to refer to as a triple threat … simple, healthy and delicious.  Feta cheese is a favourite of mine, as is seafood, and the flavours in this recipe are magnificent.  If you don’t know, orzo is a type of pasta; although it looks very much like a large grain of rice.  Did I mention I don’t believe in cutting carbs ??

Pasta, rice, bread … bring it on baby 🙂

Leave a Reply

