Mind over muffins :)

So week one is under my ever-so-slightly smaller belt … and I’ve lost 1 1/2 pounds 🙂

Not a monumental amount of weight by any means but it’s a start.  It should be noted that even though I will update my blog over the weekend, my weekly weigh in occurs on Fridays.  I really try and avoid the scale on the Monday after my mostly indulgent weekends.

The week was really good though and I feel very happy that I was able to achieve success in the manner that I did.  I didn’t count one single calorie, which is a pretty significant accomplishment for me.  I didn’t eat “diet” foods or put a heck of a lot of thought into what I ate.  I consumed wholesome, home cooked meals for the most part, but was careful not to eat junk or eat mindlessly just because it was there.  I have always been an emotional eater … I eat when I’m stressed, angry, sad, or sometimes when I’m just plain bored.  It’s likely that in order for me to achieve success I will need to eliminate this style of feeding frenzy from my lifestyle for good.

My new recipe was a Beef and Rapini Stir-Fry, and it was delicious !!!  For those of you that have not yet acquired a taste for rapini (or broccoli rabe in layman’s’ terms), I recommend you try this recipe.  The bitter taste that many complain about when referring to rapini is gone, and instead you are greeted with a wonderful blend of flavours that combine perfectly together.  I used a really good cut of steak and was sure to prepare it rare, as it should be, and I also added a couple of julienned red peppers to the mix.  Normally I would pour a stir fry over some steamed brown rice but I found this one quite satisfying all on it’s own.  You can find a link to this recipe on my Recipes page above 🙂

As for my workouts, I felt really good about them and finally feel that I got back on track this week.  I did 2 weight training workouts plus an Interval Class (that coincidentally I teach), and I completed 4 runs this week.  Admittedly, sometimes I had to drag my ass, but I always felt better when the workouts were completed.

My Exercise of the Week, which you can find by clicking the EOTW page above, was a Coffin Sit Up.  I pulled this one out of my bag of tricks for a client I trained on Halloween.  We also performed Guillotine Presses, just in keeping with the theme of course 😉  Even though I sampled this before using it with my client, I had not actually performed full sets in a workout until this week.  I did 3 sets of 20 and it is killer !!  I made it even tougher than what you will see here by never having my hands leave the floor.  The point of the exercise is to lie perfectly flat and perform a sit up with your legs (and in my case hands) never leaving the ground.  You are using nothing but core to move your body – woot woot.

Now there’s a good chance that I undid all my efforts this weekend, as I went away for 2 days and ate and drank to my heart’s content.  However that’s really the whole point of this quest.  I had a weekend spa getaway with my sisters, and did NOT want to concern myself with diet and/or watching what I ate or drank.  I should be able to enjoy these events guilt free, and then simply get back to my routine after the fact.

And that I did my friends, that I did 🙂

Leave a Reply

