Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow ye diet

Today I begin a journey …

Wait a minute, that’s not entirely true.  I’m writing this on Sunday night and don’t really plan on starting until tomorrow.  Let’s try that again.

Tomorrow I begin a journey … 🙂

Now initially this may seem like a weight loss journey.  Especially since I have a “pounds to go” countdown on my home page.  However it’s not JUST a weight loss journey.  It’s a journey to be and feel the best I can be.  For me personally, weight loss has something to do with it, but it’s not just about the number on the scale.

I’ve gained about 15 pounds in the past year or so, oddly right about the time I started working at a gym.  But like any other job, at the end of the day and especially after being at work for 12-14 hours at a time, the last thing on my mind is staying there any longer to get in a workout.

And truth be told I’ve been eating like crap as well.

So when I say one full year to a new and improved me, feeling good about myself physically is just a small part of it.  But it’s a big part too.  I don’t feel good when I’m overweight, and I don’t have confidence in the product I’m trying to deliver to my clients, so weight loss is a big part of my journey.  More specifically I want to be fit again.

Naturally part of this plan is to incorporate more exercise into my life as well as improve my diet.  The last time I lost a considerable amount of weight (35 to be exact), I may have gone a little overboard.  I was in the gym 5-6 days a week for 90 minutes at a time.  My diet was pretty strict, although I have always allowed myself indulgences and always subscribed to the theory “everything in moderation”.  But I’ve never been able to be successful at weight loss or even weight maintenance for that matter without counting calories and keeping track of every morsel that passed my lips, even on the cheat days.

The new plan is to lose the weight, get fit, but not obsess about it.  I plan to workout on 3-5 days per week for an hour or less, eat what I want when I want, but just be fully aware that I’m eating because I’m hungry and need to fuel my body rather than mindlessly noshing just because it’s there.  More importantly, I won’t beat myself up if I break these rules.

In my blog each week I will review the workouts that I did and update my progress in terms of pounds lost.  I’m going to try one new exercise each week and post it here as well.  You’ll find that in the EOTW (Exercise of the Week ) page.

I’m also going to attempt to cook more quality home cooked meals, and attempt one new recipe each week, which I will also post here.  It’s not that I don’t cook home cooked meals now.  I do.  Almost every night.  But being single sometimes those meals are not the most creative cuisine out there.  I simply want to refine my culinary skills and enjoy the food I eat.  But I should warn you, these will not be diet recipes but whatever the hell turns my fancy and looks yummy 🙂

Everything in moderation right ??

Leave a Reply

